jump to navigation

In Your Facebook June 12, 2009

Posted by BCME UK in Social media.
trackback

by Matt H

So, Facebook have announced through their blog that users are to be granted their own personal URL. You’ll be able to neaten up the random numbers at the end of your profile to a name of your choosing. I’ve got my eyes on facebook.com/matt.hall/

The addresses will be assigned on a first come, first served basis from 5.01 am GMT Saturday morning. Visit here at that time to join the rush for a cool name! Let’s hope the Facebook servers can cope with what is sure to be immense global traffic.

Reaction to the move seems to be largely positive with more than 45,000 users (including myself) stating that they ‘like this’ post on the Facebook blog. However, some users have expressed concerns that taking on nicknames in this way may lead to Facebook becoming more ‘gimmicky’ like MySpace. Whilst I believe a lot of people have chosen to move away from the *RiD1cuLOU$**Ni©kNAm∑S* that plagued MySpace, I guess we’ve just gotta trust Facebook on this one.

But – bad luck for those of us (like me) with generic names. I suppose I’d better set my alarm if I want to beat the thousands of other ‘Matt Hall’s on Facebook to that prized URL.

Good luck John Smith.

facebook nickname

facebook nickname

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

